Open today 10-20
The Round Tower by night

Star Gazing from Above

Date
01.10.2019
-
31.03.2020
Time
18:00
Location
The Observatory
Price
Included in entrance ticket

Star Gazing from Above

Join our amateur astronomers for a night of star gazing. During the winter months, the Observatory is open and manned every Tuesday and Wednesday evening from 18 to 21. No reservation is needed. The visit is included in the normal entrance ticket.

Used by the University of Copenhagen until 1861, the Round Tower is Europe’s oldest functioning astronomy observatory. It is now regularly used by amateur astronomers and open to the public all year round.

On top of the Round Tower there has been several different observatories. The latest dates from 1929. The Observatory is 6.75 metres high and 6 metres in diameter and contains a refracting telescope with 80–450 x magnification

October
Tuesday 1 October 18-21: Jupiter and Saturn
Wednesday 2 October 18-21: The Moon and Jupiter
Tuesday 8 October 18-21: The Moon and Jupiter
Wednesday 9 October 18-21: The Moon and Jupiter
Friday 11 October 18-23:30 (Culture Night): Saturn and the Moon
Monday 14 October 18-21: The Moon and Saturn
Tuesday 15 October 18-21: Jupiter and Saturn
Wednesday 16 October 18-21: Jupiter and Saturn
Thursday 17 October 18-21: Jupiter and Saturn
Tuesday 22 October 18-21: Saturn and Albireo
Wednesday 23 October 18-21: Saturn and Albireo
Tuesday 29 October 18-21: Saturn and Albireo
Wednesday 30 October 18-21: Saturn and Albireo

November
Tuesday 5 November 18-21: The Moon and the Pleiades
Wednesday 6 November 18-21: The Moon and the Pleiades
Monday 11 November 13:30-16:30: Transit of Mercury
Tuesday 12 November 18-21: The Moon and the Pleiades
Wednesday 13 November 18-21: The Moon and the Pleiades
Tuesday 19 November 18-21: The Pleiades and Albireo
Wednesday 20 November 18-21 The Pleiades and Albireo
Tuesday 26 November 18-21: The Pleiades and Albireo
Wednesday 27 November 18-21: The Pleiades and Albireo

December
Tuesday 3 December 18-21: The Moon and the Pleiades
Wednesday 4 December 18-21: The Moon and the Pleiades
Tuesday 10 December 18-21: The Moon and the Pleiades
Wednesday 11 December 18-21: The Moon and the Pleiades
Tuesday 17 December 18-21: The Pleiades and Albireo
Wednesday 18 December 18-21: The Pleiades and Albireo